Leave a comment

Painting Pains

Have you ever had a project you want to finish so badly but have almost zero motivation to do? Right now this is my struggle in my scene painting class. This semester we are working on reflective paintings and mine is really kicking my butt. The painting is of a hood ornament on a 1950’s Thunderbird and I feel like no matter how much work I get done on it I am never any closer to finishing it. Usually I don’t have as many troubles with paintings as I am having with this one. To be fair, I am by no means a great painter, or even a skilled one… in fact I’m just moderately okay. But I am fine with that. For me painting is usually really relaxing. I can pop in my headphones, clear my mind and just brush colors onto canvas for hours if I had nothing else to do (just don’t make me mix color, that’s the worst). Every time I go to work on this painting I just can’t get in the flow and I really can’t figure out why that is. At this point I really just want to call it done, despite that fact that it still looks pretty bad and kind of just forget about it. It is just really unfortunate that I have ended up feeling this way about it because when I started I was really excited to do this particular image. Hopefully in these last couple of days of the semester I can muster the strength to finish this thing once and for all, then it’ll be a thing of the past.

Leave a Reply

