Leave a comment

Art is a Marathon.

Runners cross over the Boston Marathon finish line while running the Boston Athletic Association's 5K race in Boston

Runners cross over the Boston Marathon finish line while running the Boston Athletic Association’s 5K race in Boston, Massachusetts April 19, 2014. The 118th running of the Boston Marathon will be held April 21. REUTERS/Brian Snyder (UNITED STATES – Tags: SPORT ATHLETICS) ORG XMIT: BKS02

Today Marks the final Marathon I will witness in Boston for likely some time. I had never really taken the time to watch it before today. The passion and energy of the runners and crowd were electric and made me feel a sense of hope for humanity for the first time in weeks. And that made me think of why we write and choose to create theater and why specifically I do it. I think too often it comes from a negative place for me. But upon further thought I think the reason I feel the need to critique and hope for a better future is because of what great things we are capable of. It is exhausting to be alive right now in the world much like it must be to run a marathon (I am of course guessing at this since I never have actually run one). But what I learned watching people who were well past the point of exhaustion who were running today is that, we are capable of so much more than we think and if we just keep moving the finish line could be just over the next hill.

Leave a Reply

