Leave a comment

When it’s all worth it

“It’s Carmen, right? You said you’re a double major. With all of the hours and work that Jon was talking about, how do you manage it?”

“Honestly, with great difficulty.” I went on to elaborate on the choices and sacrifices I’ve made in order to *hopefully* graduate in 2018 with a BFA in Stage Management and Lighting Design from BU. I ended along the lines of, but it’s what I need in order to grow as an artist, and so far I’d say its worth it. Every year during portfolio reviews for prospective Design & Production students applying to BU I get that question from a parent or student, how do you manage the work load and the hours of the program? It’s a deceptively difficult question to answer. You figure it out, you make choices, and it’s never an easy choice between a good thing and an okay thing, its generally two great things. And sometimes, you need a reminder of why you’re doing what you’re doing.

Sitting in the house of the Wimberly on Saturday night for the opening of ‘Tis Pity She’s a Whore, I had one of those moments. As my first proscenium show, the process has been full of steep learning curves, mistakes, hardwork, lost sleep, and less than my best work on a couple school assignments. Due to many factors out of my control, I’ve been a little more removed from this process than I normally am as an ME. I’d never actually seen or heard the show all the way through until opening, meaning that all of my work on the process was largely out of context. Sure, I’ll point that light there. I’ll go switch that color. Let me go see why that won’t turn on. I woke up Saturday morning at 7:30am to go to work the portfolio reviews exhausted and relieved it was opening because it meant tech was over and I’d get some time to relax this week. But sitting in the house that night, watching the story unfold, I forgot about all work. I laughed, I cringed, I let myself be swept into the world. I sat beaming in pride that my work went into creating something so beautiful, both in terms of the design and acting. Yes, what we do is hard and some parts of it suck, but we get to transcend time and communicate the human experience, and that is beautiful.

Come see the show! Runs through 2/25. http://www.bu.edu/today/2017/cfa-tis-pity-shes-a-whore/

Leave a Reply

