Leave a comment

Motivation….

As I write this post in the enth hour,  I struggle with what to write about – what is going on around me that I can respond to, engage with, wrestle with?  Truth is, there’s oodles of performances: instillations, slam poetry, dance, even performances of civil justice like protests happening all around me.  It comes down to motivation.

Motivation to get up, get out and witness these performances.  Motivation to come open-minded and listen, to ask questions, stay informed.  Motivation to take responsibility for my engagement with theatre and performance.

I can no longer preach in one corner about being a collaborative theatre artist and creating art, whilst at time being passive in my performance attendence – especially not now.  Not when a vehicle for human experiences like theatre is so significant in our current times.

  I believe performance of any like is the strongest way to convey and bridge human experiences/stories.  The time to get motivated and get off my ass is now.

Leave a Reply

