Leave a comment

I’m Going to Live

“So what’re you going to do after you graduate?”

I cannot count the amount of times I’ve heard this question. Whether it’s in relation to my degree choice or the fact that I am soon to graduate, people always seem to be the most curious about my activities post-grad.

This question used to fluctuate between annoying and stress/fear/anxiety inducing but recently I’ve answered succinctly and calmly to anyone who asks.

I’m going to live, goddammit.

Maybe not in those exact words though. Usually I say, politely, that I’m going to live and work in Boston for a couple years and see where things go. Because when I look at the past four years I’ve spent in this beautiful city, I see countless hours in rehearsal spaces, classrooms and the cracking but supportive walls of CFA. I have loved and cherished my time here and what it’s done for me as an artist and as a person. I have grown in ways I never thought I could.

But if my time here has taught me anything, it’s how to take charge of my life and make the decisions that are right for me.

My life will still be devoted to my art, and making theatre and changing lives for the better. That will never not be a thing I chase after. But I cannot do that if I don’t experience the many things that simply living has to offer.

So no, I will not be driving myself crazy, stressing about where and what I will be doing and how soon I can establish myself in the industry. That doesn’t mean I am changing courses. Simply taking my time.

I am young. I am in my 20s. I have no life-defining commitments to keep to anyone or anything. And I am extremely privileged to be so.

Leave a Reply

