Leave a comment

O Sarah! My Sarah!

O Sarah! My Sarah!

I thoroughly enjoyed reading 100 Essay’s I Don’t Have Time to Write. I think Sarah Ruhl’s essays are simple but also complex and multifaceted, much like her plays. She has a way of presenting the reader with information, making us feel safe and warm in her words, and then asking a hard-hitting question, but then not telling us the answer to the question, and therefore yanking the covers off of us, and exposing us to the cold harsh day ahead of us. There is so much work to do!

Over all, I found this book genuinely inspiring. During the few weeks when I was reading it, I found myself writing a lot more. Her questions subconsciously seeped into my day to day life, and I found myself wondering, “Do I want to make art that relies on the audience to create it?” or “is subtext really that important? What problems does it cause?” It was an exceptionally helpful book to read in the midst of playwriting and directing—a true theatre artist’s almanac. And also Sarah Ruhl has children, and a great job, and a brilliant mind, and a boatload of life experience and words like butter on a page. Um, Goals??!

What ever happened to the humble-nature of theatre? Of theatre for pure enjoyment and the sharing of love? Why is everything so academic? Why is everything so commercial? I want to be the kind of equity actor who stands out in the cold and performs Passion Play with no props, sounds, lights, or stage.

About mollygrev

A clumsy actor/writer/student who loves Harry Potter and bread. Allergic to penicillin.

Leave a Reply

