Leave a comment

Astrology and Acting

Recently, I’ve been so focused on the other parts of my artistry that I’ve kind of forgotten how to act. I turned to this blog to help me connect with my character. The blog format is familiar to me now, the right combination of sincere and casual, personal and public. So just as I’ve worked through other things on these (web)pages, I will work through this, too.

“Light hearted Sagittarius is the happy optimist of the zodiac. Fun loving, and always high-spirited, for Sagittarius the glass is eternally half full. Sagittarians are extremely tactful and diplomatic for the most part — although they are not afraid of bending the rules if it will make everyone happy. If Sagittarians experience moodiness or depression, they may hide this side of themselves from the rest of the world. While others see a light-hearted, happy side, some Sagittarians, always determined to at least “look happy,” may conceal their moodiness, hiding it from others.” –ifate astrology

So, my Sagittarian friend, we are not so different after all.

I know that look. You’re not fooling me with that look. Tuck your hands into your sleeves and give us a sly smile but you’re not fooling me.

Keep those eyes open wide and those hands in those pockets. That’s what we do best. Speak only when it’s the right time. You’ll know when it’s the right time.

People enjoy you. Don’t worry so much.

Turn on the floodlights now and again. People will be grateful for the light.

Know that if you leave them on for too long, your batteries will run out. The dark will be resounding. Conserve energy. Try going solar sometimes. The sun works wonders.

Working is hard for you, sure, but still you must. People are depending on you. Don’t let them down. I know you wouldn’t, but just a reminder.

You pretend to throw your caution to the wind, but the blinding light of your anxiety is too bright to ignore. It’s alright. Your friends will be there to catch you when you fall. They always have been. This is Newton’s Third Law: every action has an equal and opposite reaction. Do not think you are above the laws of physics.

Make yourself available for hugs. Know that if you do not get them, you risk serious illness.

You may desire a break. You will never really get one. This is the Law of Conservation of Energy: energy cannot be created or destroyed. Do not think you are above the laws of physics.

You thrive on attention. So what. You’re a big bumbling guy with a love for the world. But your love speaks for itself. Stop trying to justify it. It is not something to be ashamed of. Walk forward with a voice as loud as you like and gobble up every bit of inspiration and whatever strikes your fancy. You contain multitudes and all that jazz.

We’re different, you and I. You’ve got those pesky male genes. You make me look like my brother in my dad’s suit. But you can’t hide from me forever. They’re going to tailor the suit to fit me just right.

Leave a Reply

