Leave a comment

Today we rest, tomorrow we fight.

Whatever happens in the future, near and far, the day Donald Trump was elected will always remain a painful, potent memory to me.

I fell asleep in front of the television before I could hear the news announced. When I woke up, the first CNN update I saw on my phone was actually, “Vladimir Putin wants to restore relations with US after Trump victory.”

Restore relations with….? Victory….? What….?

My heart sank. I experienced a kind of pain and numbness inside that spread from my chest to my finger tips. I felt so heavy and weak. There was a sick sense of community with the people around me, as we all felt so let down, defeated, and absolutely horrified. It was like a family member had died. Or worse. A part of ourselves had died.

I was in the elevator with a professor and expressed how powerless I felt. They replied to me, “today we rest, tomorrow we fight.”

I kept that for the rest of the day. I allowed myself to be fearful, heartbroken, and sad. I went home and cried and ate my weight in macaroni. I allowed myself to be weak and blank. I allowed myself to heal.

But the next day, that sadness turned into anger. I was ready to fight. I have been given the tools in my theatre training to prepare me for this. The day after Donald Trump was elected, I did what I had the most power and strength to do for an immediate result/release. I wrote a song.

The lyrics are:

No Trump, No KKK, No Fascist USA

No Trump, No KKK, No Fascist USA

No Trump, No KKK, No Fascist USA

Not my president, hell fucking no

The man who grabbed my pussy has to go

Even though we got the popular vote,

I still feel vomit in my throat. 

The system is fucked, the game is rigged

But I won’t go down to some sexist pig. 

Women and minorities have to live in fear, because now the orange clown is here. 

No Trump, No KKK, No Fascist USA

No Trump, No KKK, No Fascist USA

No Trump, No KKK, No Fascist USA

That sexist, racist, homophobic, hateful, nazi puppet

Can’t take away our voice

Listen to me, because we only have one choice:

Take him down with kindness

Take him down with art 

Take him down with love 

And rip out his cold, dead, heart. 

No Trump, No KKK, No Fascist USA

No Trump, No KKK, No Fascist USA

No Trump, No KKK, No Fascist USA

Not only was the response I received overwhelmingly positive, but I felt inspired by my collaborator and myself for creating a piece that I believe acts as the anti-Trump anthem of pushing forward. Art is not going to be the answer in solving our problems in moving forward. But it is going to be an answer. I will, and I encourage others to, donate to the organizations I care about, attend rallies, and contact my representatives. However, I am going to continue making content like this, encouraging people to stay angry, remain woke, and to never pass up an opportunity to use the voice. Most importantly, I want to advocate for love and kindness. We cannot become united and there will not be equity if there continues to be an epidemic of hatred being spewed across the country.

About Kyra Tantao

Theatre Artist. Punk. Current student at Boston University School of Theatre.

Leave a Reply

