Leave a comment

“The Work”

I didn’t do any of the homework I was supposed to do today.
I was late to the one class I had today, and when I got there, I couldn’t focus or complete any of the tasks assigned to me.
And yet, I still think I managed to get some of “The Work” done.

Here at theatre school, there are a couple buzz phrases that hold an almost holy reverence. To name a few…

  • “The Room”; noun; the sacred place we are learning in, usually reserved for rehearsals and studio classes, sometimes referred to as “The Space”; Let however you’re feeling be in The Room. 
  • “Drop in” ; verb ; take an outside image into your raw material and allow it to move and change you; Drop in the image of relief. 
    And of course …
  • “The Work”; noun; what its all about; what all of this amounts to

As the results came in last night, many of my fellow classmates and I speculated how the vocabulary of our classes would speak to our feelings of this election. We predicted a familiar call to “put it into The Work.” In the face of hardship, the artists must create art. We are encouraged to move forward by using our chosen craft to express our fears and anger. We, as students of the arts at this period in time, have a specific opportunity to begin to change the hearts of our fellow citizens.

I didn’t start a revolution today. I didn’t start writing the play that will change the world. I didn’t start a theatre company. I didn’t use my feelings to portray a character that would humanize all this confusion.

But, I talked and I listened to some brilliant people. We got frustrated and apologized and laughed and cried and yelled, and every time I stopped to worry about homework and deadlines was worth the broadening of my perspective with every individual conversation. Thanks to the empathetic and articulate people I have somehow tricked to hang around me, I have started to piece together where we fit into all of this. And I think that’s The Work too.

Leave a Reply

