Leave a comment

Self-Care

I feel pretty lost right now… and my peers looked liked ghosts haunting the halls of the CFA. So I’m trying to ground myself, trying to take care of myself, trying to give myself concrete things that I can do to move forward. This isn’t going to be the last tough day we will have in our lives. As theatre artists we spend our days working hard to be open and receptive, but that means we need to take care of ourselves as well – not just today, but always.  Here’s some concrete things I’m reminding myself of.

  1. Get dressed
  2. Stay hydrated
  3. Feed my body
  4. Say something nice to someone
  5. Stretch my body
  6. Dance or listen to music
  7. Hug or cuddle someone
  8. Reach out to old friends, current friends, teachers, a therapist
  9. Take a bath or shower
  10. Take a nap
  11. Get out into nature
  12. Read a book
  13. Smell something yummy
  14. Watch Seinfeld bloopers
  15. Get sleep

 

Leave a Reply

