1 Comment

Sanctuary for the Little Guy

An article from the Boston Globe opinion section drew my attention this week. In it Peter DuBois, Artistic Director of the Huntington Theatre Company, addressed one of the saddest news to impact the Boston Theatre Scene, the close of the Factory Theatre.

I am proud to be a theatre artist. I enjoy the work that I create through collaboration with different minds looking toward one goal. Every year I am reminded of a simple fact that I try to fix but never succeed at doing. I am a terrible theatre citizen.

In a market as beautiful full as Boston is, with so many different theatre companies, performing so many different types and styles of theatre, moving along the dialogue in one of the most progressive cities in the country, I see far too little of what is going on in the world around me. Every year I realign myself to try and see more and more shows, both inside and outside the walls of the CFA. Inevitably at the end of each semester, I look back and realize how much I have missed.

It is true, that is almost impossible to see everything while being a full time student and working at the scope that we do, but it does feel kind of crappy.

I never got to see anything at the Factory Theatre. I had heard of it, never however made the journey down to see one of the many shows that performed in that space in over the two years that I have lived and embarked on my theatrical career in Boston. Only when I heard it was closing that a somber realization occurred to me. This space would have been the space where my friends and colleagues would have begun working after graduation. The scope of how many productions and theatre companies that would never materialize became a somber notion. I haven’t seen much fringe theatre, nor do I have an overwhelming desire to work in it; but damn it if it isn’t a beautiful counterpoint to mellow the artistic pallet of a city.

With the new “Arts Czar” arriving in the city and a City Hall with enough of a focus on arts to appoint an “Arts Czar”, the first question that needs to be asked and answered is “How do we provide a fertile environment for small, independent artistic endeavors to thrive without being dependent on their own success?” In short, “How do we keep the little guy in the fight?”

One comment on “Sanctuary for the Little Guy

  1. It’s important to note that DuBois’ piece is part of a much larger opinion section from the Globe’s Nov 14 edition that included 12 pieces by arts sector representatives and the Mayor’s office. I strongly recommend everyone read the whole section.

    http://www.bostonglobe.com/opinion/2014/11/14/developing-boston-arts-community/UGqbfurzCJYC7qaHc1bl8L/story.html

Leave a Reply

