Leave a comment

What I don’t want

This is my first week of graduate school as an MFA Directing candidate at Boston University. I have been ruminating over my personal process all week, trying to decide the best course of action for myself, so that I get the very most out of my time here. I know a few things: I want to work on classics, because most of my directing work has been in the contemporary realm; I want to develop more concise language with which to work with my actors; I want to exercise my intellectual muscles so that I feel more of a balance between my guts and my brain.

Just this week, I discovered an article by Twitter-means—thank you @macwrites and @moviesbybowes for the discussion leading me to the article—about a director, Abdellatif Kechiche, who just won the coveted Palme d’Or at the 2013 Cannes Film Festival for his film Blue is the Warmest Color. In the article, both actresses in the film, Léa Seydoux and Adèle Exarchopoulos, describe in graphic detail the director’s horrifying, manipulative, abusive behavior. It was bad enough that neither actress had a problem saying in an interview that they would never work with him again–an interview, to be sure, that was set up by people who were hoping to promote the film–but that sadly, this WILL promote the film. It’s disturbing that Keciche will still be rewarded, because the film turned out to be a winner. (Of special note: the Cannes jury, led by Steven Spielberg, demanded the Palme d’Or be awarded to the whole team that made the film, not just Kechiche.)

What I took from this article? At least I know exactly what I don’t want to be like as a director.

Leave a Reply

